A Labor of Love

When I first started my job at the lab, I had found myself overwhelmed with everything I needed to know. My position alone took many months of training and takes about 6 months more before people even start to get the hang of it.

It’s one the hardest and most stressful positions. So, one of the first things I started doing was looking for ways to make things easier and faster for me. So I started my own reference guide for personal use.

You see, at work we have so much info we need to look up, yet all of it was spread out among many different resources we had to look up. This was very time-consuming problem. So I set out to put it all into one spot in one easy to use/read guide for myself.

So I came up with this.

The most people looking at this probably would think this looks like a complicated mess. However, for those of us who do my particular job it actually makes a lot of sense, and makes things really easy for us. With all of the most common information on one screen for any particular test.

Anyways some of the other people seen my little reference guide and instantly wanted me to give them access to, so I did. This ended up trickling up to the higher-ups who now have decided that this is going to be used has the labs official internal reference guide.

It’s still a work in progress and they are wanting me to complete it. However, it’s something I feel I can take pride in. Something that I’m doing that not just helps me but it’s helping others and my company. It has become my labor of love and away. Something I’m really enjoying about work.

Anyways I just wanted to share this little project but I’ve been working on.

Leave a comment